## MINUTES OF ANNUAL TOWN MEETING OCTOBER 21, 2024

The meeting was called to order by First Selectman Bradley N. Bremer at 8:00 p.m. Nominations were opened for Moderator. Sarah Carfiro nominated Brad Bremer; she was seconded by Scott Norton. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote Bradley N. Bremer was declared Moderator. The Moderator read the call of the meeting.

<u>Item No. 1.</u> The Moderator stated that this position is currently held by Kevin Robichaud, and he would like to continue. The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. Marty Neal nominated Kevin Robichaud; she was seconded by Todd Correll. There being no other nominations from the floor, and by hand vote, Kevin Robichaud (U) was reappointed regular member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2024 to October, 2027).

<u>Item No. 2.</u> The Moderator stated that this is a vacancy position and asked for nominations from the floor. Marty Neal nominated Ned Catto; she was seconded by Kevin Robichaud. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, Edward P. Catto (U) was appointed regular member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a vacancy term of one year (October, 2024 to October, 2025).

<u>Item No. 3</u>. The Moderator thanked Duncan McClave for his years of service as he did not wish to continue. The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. Martha Neal nominated Aden B. Ruwet; she was seconded by Chris Johnstone. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, Aden B. Ruwet (R) was appointed alternate member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2024 to October, 2027).

Item No. 4. The Moderator stated that there are two positions to fill. The two positions are held by Fred Williams and Penny White, they both wish to continue. The Moderator opened nominations from the floor for the first position. Hope Carfiro nominated Fred Williams; she was seconded by Scott Norton. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, Fred P. Williams (D) was reappointed regular member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of two years (October, 2024 to October, 2026). The Moderator opened nominations from the floor for the second position. Scott Norton nominated Penny White; he was seconded by Jeanne Jones. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, Penelope F. White (R) was reappointed regular member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of two years (October, 2024 to October, 2026).

<u>Item No. 5</u>. The Moderator stated that this position is currently held by Sarah Carfiro. Sarah would like to continue, the Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. Marty Neal nominated Sarah she was seconded by Diane Johnstone. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, Sarah E. Carfiro (U) was reappointed alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of three years (October, 2024 to October, 2027).

Item No. 6. The Moderator thanked Chris Waring and Roxanne Puhalski for their years of service as they have decided not to continue. That being said there are three positions to fill, the first position is currently held by Ryan Farrell and he would like to continue. The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. Kevin Robichaud nominated Ryan Farrell; he was seconded by Alyssa Correll. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, Ryan W. Farrell (U) was reappointed member of the Recreation Board to serve a term of three years (October, 2024 to October, 2027). The Moderator opened nominations from the floor for the second position. Chris Johnstone nominated Kimberly Demarco; he was seconded by Scott Norton. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, Kimberly Ann Demarco (R) was appointed member of the Recreation Board to serve a term of three years. (October, 2024 to October, 2027). The Moderator opened nominations from the floor for the third position. There being no nominations from the floor this position remains vacant and will be filled by the Board of Selectmen at a later date.

<u>Item No. 7.</u> The Moderator stated that this position is currently held by John Lossin and he would like to continue, the Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. Marty Neal nominated John Lossin; and was seconded by Penny White. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote, John H. Lossin (D) was reappointed regular member of the Historic District Commission to serve a term of five years (October, 2024 to October, 2029).

<u>Item No. 8.</u> The Moderator asked for nominations from the floor. Jennifer Catto nominated herself Jennifer Catto; she was seconded by Kevin Robichaud. There being no other nominations from the floor and by hand vote Jennifer D. Catto (D) was appointed alternate member of the Historic District Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2024 to October, 2027).

<u>Item No. 9.</u> The Moderator explained that the Tax Collector has proposed an amendment to the ordinance that authorizes her to waive any tax bill for \$5.00 or less. Chris Johnstone moved the item and was seconded by Marty Neal. A discussion took place with Duncan Wilber explaining the ramifications of the change. There being no other discussion and by hand vote the proposed ordinance was passed. The Ordinance to allow the Tax Collector to waive any tax bill for \$5.00 or less was approved.

There being no further business a motion was made by Chris Johnstone he was seconded by Marty Neal to adjourn the meeting at 8:10 p.m.

Attest: Debra L. McKeon Town Clerk