## MINUTES OF ANNUAL TOWN MEETING OCTOBER 18, 2023

The meeting was called to order by First Selectman Christopher L. Johnstone at 8:00 p.m. Nominations were opened for Moderator. Aden Bruce Ruwet nominated Chris Johnstone; he was seconded by Ernie Marmer. There being no other nominations and by hand vote Christopher L. Johnstone was declared Moderator. The Moderator read the call of the meeting

<u>Item No. 1.</u> The moderator stated that there are two regular member terms up for appointment and we will vote on one at a time. Will Sweeny currently holds the first position and would like to continue. Aden Bruce Ruwet nominated Will Sweeney, he was seconded by Kate Kennedy. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, William M. Sweeney (U) was reappointed regular member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2023 to October, 2026).

The second appointment is currently held by John Fernandez, John does not want to continue as a regular member. The floor was opened for nominations. Ernie Marmer nominated Todd Correll; he was seconded by Kevin Robichaud. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, Todd Correll (D) was appointed regular member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2023 to October, 2026).

Item No. 2. The Moderator stated that this term is held by Rich Marchesseault and Rich does not want to continue. John Fernandez is interested. The floor was opened to nominations. Jen LaRocque nominated John Fernandez she was seconded by Ernie Marmer. Ernie Marmer then nominated Scott Patterson; he was seconded by Scott Norton. Being no other nominations, the moderator called for a paper ballot vote. Karen Odell Democratic and Sherri Gray Republican Registrars of Voters checked the voter list and handed out and collected ballots. Paper ballot votes totals; Scott Patterson received 8 votes and John Fernandez received 27 votes. By paper ballot vote John Fernandez (D) was appointed alternate member of the Planning and Zoning Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2023 to October, 2026).

<u>Item No. 3</u>. The Moderator stated that there are three regular member terms up for appointment and we will vote on one at a time. The three positions are currently held by Carol Sherwood, Tim Brainard, John Fredsall, they all wish to continue. The moderator opened nominations from the floor for the first seat. Sarah Carfiro nominated Tim Brainard; she was seconded by Karen Odell. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, Timothy T. Brainard (R) was reappointed regular member of the Zoning Board of Appeals for a term of two years (October, 2023 to October, 2025).

The floor was opened for nominations for the second term. Sarah Carfiro nominated John Fredsall she was seconded by Kevin Robichaud. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, John E. Fredsall (R) was reappointed regular member of the Zoning Board of Appeals for a term of two years (October, 2023 to October, 2025).

The floor was opened for nominations for the third term. Brad Bremer nominated Carol Sherwood he was seconded by Kate Kennedy. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, Carol A. Sherwood (R) was reappointed regular member to her eighth term on the Zoning Board of Appeals for a term of two years (October, 2023 to October, 2025).

<u>Item No. 4</u>. The Moderator stated this term is currently held by Helen Campbell and she wishes to continue. The floor was opened for nominations. Kate Kennedy nominated Helen Campbell she was seconded by Sherri Gray. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, Helen Campbell was reappointed alternate member of the Zoning Board of Appeals to serve a term of three years (October, 2023 to October, 2026).

<u>Item No. 5</u>. The Moderator stated there are two terms up for nomination, and we will vote one at a time. Tiffanie Meehan currently hold the first position and she would like to continue. The floor was opened for nominations. Chris Waring nominated Tiffanie Meehan; he was seconded by Ernie Marmer. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, Tiffiany L, Meehan (U) was reappointed member of the Recreation Board to serve a term of three years (October, 2023 to October, 2026).

The floor was opened for nominations for the second term. Chris Waring nominated Kimberly Thomas; he was seconded by Kevin Robichaud. Being no other nominations and by hand vote Kimberly Thomas (R) was appointed member of the Recreation Board to serve a term of three years (October, 2023 to October, 2026).

<u>Item No. 6.</u> The moderated stated that Cathie Norton currently holds this position and she would like to continue. The floor was opened for nominations. Scott Norton nominated Cathie Norton he was seconded by Ernie Marmer. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, Catherine C. Norton (R) was reappointed regular member of the Historic District Commission to serve a term of five years (October 2023 to October 2028)

<u>Item No. 7.</u> The moderator stated that Carol Lord currently holds this position and she would like to continue. The floor was opened for nominations. Scott Norton nominated Carol Lord he was seconded by Sherri Gray. Being no other nominations and by hand vote, Carol H. Lord (R) was reappointed alternate member of the Historic District Commission to serve a term of three years (October, 2023 to October, 2026).

There being no further business the moderator adjourned the meeting at 8:22 p.m.

Attest: Debra L. McKeon Town Clerk

THIS IS A DRAFT COPY:

PLEASE REVIEW, INITIAL AND NOTE ANY CORRECTIONS.

THANK YOU